President's Report

The past 12 months in 2003/04 have again been very busy and successful for ASBMB and its members. As usual, the Society's Medal and Fellowship awards have been very keenly contested and the winners are to be congratulated for the excellence of their achievements. It is also a special pleasure to congratulate Dr Jamie Rossjohn of Monash University (ASBMB Roche Medallist, 2003) on his being awarded the Science Minister's Prize for Life Scientist of the Year.

Once again we and our colleagues in the ASPS and ANZSCDB can celebrate the outstanding success of another of our joint meetings - this time the recent ComBio2004 at the Burswood Resort, Perth, WA. It is a pleasure to congratulate and express our gratitude to Professor David Day and all the Members of the Organising and Program Committee for their marvellous efforts in arranging such an interesting and comprehensive meeting. Our very professional Secretariat, Sally and Chris Jay, as well as our Webmaster, Tristan Wallis, also deserve our thanks and congratulations for their seemingly tireless efforts to manage so smoothly the many aspects that make for an enjoyable conference experience. Congratulations also to our Sustaining Members for mounting such an attractive and hospitable Exhibition of the latest equipment and other facilities that we need for our research. Congratulations to the winners of the Student Poster Awards and to all the contestants who once again showed how high the standard of research is among our student members.

In anticipation of the workload arising from the resolutions of the 2003 Planning Forum, Council appointed a Special Projects Officer, Ms Liana Nagley, to ensure that decisions regarding a membership drive and public relations were translated into actions, to assist ASBMB Golden Jubilee Group and the Honorary Archivist, Dr Rebecca Lew, with preparations for celebrating the Society's 50th Anniversary in 2005, and to provide assistance to the new Editor of the Australian Biochemist, Professor Clem Robinson, including putting past and current issues online. Liana has dealt splendidly with all these diverse demands on her time and skills in a most efficient and effective manner. Another outcome of the Planning Forum has been the Career Forum to be convened by Professor Leann Tilley at ComBio2005 in Adelaide.

The President-Elect, Professor Philip Nagley, and the Treasurer, Dr Terry Walsh, represented the ASBMB at the 18th General Assembly of the IUBMB held in Montreal, Canada, in October 2003. Professor Nagley was elected to the IUBMB Nominating Committee for 2003-6. He also secured



the services of the IUBMB President, Professor Mary Osborn, to open the ASBMB's forthcoming Jubilee meeting in Adelaide and to participate in ComBio2005.

In addition to the activities of the ASBMB Special Interest Groups, the Society has supported a number of specialised conferences held at various locations: the Lorne Protein, Cancer and Genome Conferences; a Workshop on Membrane Protein Structure (WEHI, Melbourne); ANZMAG2004 (Barossa Valley); the 3rd International Symposium on AMP-activated Protein Kinase (Lorne); a Symposium on Diabetes and Exercise (Freycinet Peninsula, Tasmania); a Symposium on Brain Cells under Stress (Monash University); a Fluorescence Workshop (Coffs Harbour, NSW); the Yeast: Products & Discovery Conference (Barossa Valley, SA); the International Biology Olympiad, Brisbane 2004; and a Crystallography Workshop (University of Queensland). All have made valuable contributions to enriching the educational and networking opportunities available to ASBMB members.

Finally, it is a pleasure to acknowledge the many contributions to the Society's various activities by the members of Council and of its several ad hoc Committees - the Editorial Committee, the Golden Jubilee Planning Group, the Awards Committee, and the Women in Science Working Group. An especially hearty "thank you" for our retiring Secretary, Associate-Professor Merlin Crossley, whose extreme diligence is only matched by his wit and wisdom, and also for the retiring State representatives Dr Samantha Richardson (Victoria), Dr Susan Howitt (ACT) and Dr Gene Wijfels (Queensland). Also, a special vote of thanks to our extremely hard-working Treasurer, Dr Terry Walsh, whose normally exacting duties have been made all the more onerous by the GST and increased security measures in the banking sector.

